On-line Marriage Application System
Instructions for the Bride & Groom
Marriage License Preapplication
QUESTIONS and ANSWERS
WHO MAY APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE?
IF EITHER PARTY IS A MINOR, IS THE CONSENT OF BOTH PARENTS REQUIRED?
If either party is a minor applicant, ages 16 or 17 (not yet age 18): The party must have consent of at least one parent or legal guardian. Minors will need an original or
certified copy of the birth certificate which lists the name of the consenting parent. (No photocopies of documents may be accepted) Legal guardians are required to present
a certified copy of the court oredered guardianship papers. (No photocopies may be accepted) A parent or guardian is required to have acceptable identification to prove they
are the parent on the birth certificate or the legal guardian on the guardianship order.
If it is not possible for the parent or guardian to be present, an original, notarized statement in English must be presented with the certified copy of the birth certificate or a
certified copy of the guardianship order at the time of the issuance of the marriage license. The notarized statement should contain the parent or legal guardian's full name,
relationship to the minor, minor's full name, birth date and the statement that the parent or legal guardian gives consent for the minor to marry. All documents must be in
English or translated into English by a notary.
A person less than 16 years of age may marry only if either parent or legal guardian fils an action, pays all court fees as provided by law, and presents a court order, from a
Nevada District Court, authorizing the Clerk to issue the marriage license. Applicants should contact an attorney to prepare the documents.
I WAS PREVIOUSLY MARRIED, WHAT DO I NEED IN ORDER TO HAVE A MARRIAGE LICENSE ISSUED?
If either or both of y ou were previously married, you will be required to provide the date, city and state of the divorce.
ARE ANY MEDICAL EXAMS REQUIRED IN ORDER TO APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE?
No. There are no medical exams or blood tests required in order to apply for a Marriage License.
CAN I HAVE A MARRIAGE CEREMONY WITHOUT A MARRIAGE LICENSE?
No, the marriage ceremony requires a properly issued license.
WHAT IS THE FEE FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE?
The fee for a Marriage License is $60.00. The fee does not include a certified copy of the marriage certificate which can be obtained for an additional $15.00. The fee is payable
in cash, by personal check, cashier's check, money order, or credit card.
ONCE I HAVE A MARRIAGE LICENSE, HOW LONG IS IT VALID FOR?
A Marriage License is valid for 1 year from the date it is issued. The marriage must be solemnized within that time.
WHO MAY PERFORM MY MARRIAGE CEREMONY?
Your marriage ceremony may be performed by any of the following:
A regularly ordained minister, priest, rabbi or other authorized individuals per NRS 122
All judicial officers (Judges) of the State of Nevada
Authorized Notary Publics per NRS 122
Chaplains of the Armed Forces
AFTER MY MARRIAGE CEREMONY, WHEN AND WHO SHOULD RETURN THE MARRIAGE LICENSE TO THE CLERK RECORDER'S OFFICE?
A Marriage License must be returned to the Clerk Recorder's Office within 10 days after the wedding, since a marriage cannot be officially recorded until it is returned to the
Clerk Recorder's Office. The party who performed the wedding is responsible for returning the completed license.
HOW CAN I GET A CERTIFIED COPY OF MY MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE?
You can obtain a certified copy of a Marriage Certificate by requesting in writing, in person or by phone:
Eureka County Clerk Recorder
PO Box 694
10 South Main Street
Eureka, NV 89316
The fee is $15.
FORMS & LINKS
State of Nevada Public Search for Marriage Officiants
Minister Instructions and Application Instructions for Wedding Ceremony Certificate